Corporate Products Support Library Purchasing Contact Home

Seachem Tech Support is available to answer questions posted to this forum Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM EST. Questions posted over the weekend will be addressed the following Monday. Thank you for your patience.

Go Back   Seachem Support Forums > General Discussion

Old 10-26-2010, 13:15

Multiple problems with fish, multiple questions about medications

Hi,

I have been fighting what I thought was Gill Fluke for 3 months. I've tried several recommended medications, and the scratching always come back. Fish would scratching against objects many times in a row which I worry they might hurt themselves when they do that against hard yet rough objects such as substrate and driftwood. From time to time, there were rapid breathing and what looked like inflamed gills on a few fish. But for real, I don't have a microscope so I am not 100% certain if it is Gill Fluke, but those are the only symptoms I can see. Almost all fish had scratched at some point. Some scratching were so bad that fish went upside down.

Lately, there are two new problems.

One Harlequin Rasbora has a small white thing on its lips. I suspect it is mouth fungal or bacteria infection. No other fish have that as far as I can see.

One Otto catfish on occasions would do rapid circling like it was bothered by something. It also had an over 2 inch long hair thin poop the other day. Which I suspect it is internal parasites.

I am treating the whole tank with Paraguard at this moment. It has been 4 days since the medication started. I dose every day with full dose. Problems are still there with no improvement.

My questions are, is Paraguard really effectively against Gill Fluke? I don't really see it mentioned on the bottle but I read it somewhere it does. Could someone confirm it?
Should it also be good against mouth fungal and bacteria infection?