Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tank will not cycle with stability

Hello,

I have been having quite a bit of trouble getting my tank to cycle. I have a betta and a 5 gallon tank, filtered with a heater. I didn't know about cycling, unfortunately, until after I purchased the betta and he developed fin rot. I am no expert but everyone has told me it is fin rot. He is a blue butterfly betta, but developed red marks on his top fins, and now more than before.

I started at the beginning of December doing 25% water changes daily once I learned about cycling. This made most of the red go but the tank never cycled. I get readings of .25 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and 5 ppm Nitrate. On the second day the ammonia would go up to .50 and I would do a water change to bring it back down. I did see a nitrite spike one day around Christmas, but then it went right back to zero. Nitrates also rose slightly but they are already back to 5ppm. My tap water has 5ppm already so I don't think the nitrates are there from the cycle. My tap water also has .25 ammonia, which I recently found out, so I have been using water from our PuR filter which has no ammonia. I use Prime in the replacement water.

About 3 weeks ago I purchased Stability to help things along, and dosed as directed but still nothing. I have continued with the water changes because the ammonia gets too high. I tried to stop the water changes for a few days to see if that was the problem, but yesterday the ammonia went to 1ppm! I dosed the entire tank with Prime so the fish would not get hurt. Today the ammonia is back down to .25, no nitrite, and 5ppm nitrates. These are the same readings I get every time for two months now.